Terminators - Differences between the chapters

Lanfear

Heya,

i´ve read though a couple of boards, and most of the Dark Angels, Black Templars and so on are happy that the got new toys with their errata ^_^

Can someone please explain the difference between the various Terminator Options the Chapters offers?

As i am new to W40k and only know the Blood Angels, it would be nice if one of you experienced players can explain it :)

thanks in advance!

DA and BT had inferior weaponry, hangups from their codecii being written under older rules or under an outdated 'concept' (in the case of the DAs). Examples being stormsheilds only being a 4++ (rather than a 3++ as BAs have) and only allowing that save in hand-to-hand (rather than all the time).

Now BT terminators are mostly the same as our ones (though I think they still get to pick a special skill from a short list - tank hunters or FC i believe), while DA terminators are a mixed weaponry squad rather than assault or tactical terminator squads. Imagine a 5 man squad with a cyclone, 2 LC terminators, and a painr of thunderhammer/stormshield terminators. Basically they can pick and choose whatever they want (with a limit on the number of heavy weapons).

Black Templars can take Tank hunters or furious charge. They also get cheaper Cyclones and can have 2 cyclones in a 5 man squad.

Dark Angels can mix and match assault terminators and regular terminators. Theirs are more expensive, but get fearless built in.

regular marines are the same as ours without paying extra for the thunder hammer/storm shield and they don't have the Red Thirst. But they do have chapter tactics (fleet with Shrike is nice)

Also, in a Wolf "Termie" unit, we can mix in Power Armor to keep price low or to take other options. We're not obligated to have squads full of Termies, unless I've been reading that HORRIBLY wrong since the Dex came out.