New army guilt

Pavement Artist

This is somewhat related to a thread i read not long ago in the DA sub forum, partly also to do with my recent decision to play Blood Angels.

I've been playing for around about 7 years or so know. I started the hobby when i was 14 with death guard and then have since moved on to fantasy and dalliances with dark eldar. Inevitably i've dabbled with marines (i think most people cant go through their hobby career without touching some power armour). I've played space wolves briefly and also Black Templars but i've never felt a connection with them particularly; you know that sort of love and enthusiasm for an army that says to you "Yes, these are absolutely my guys."? I feel like i have that with the Dark Eldar. I've been playing them for around two and a bit years now and was the sole player at my local GW that fielded them, so i couldnt help but feel a sense of identity with them.

With space marines, one of the things ive noticed is that a lot of the time they are almost first loves. Im sure a lot of you will have started the hobby with marines (not suprising, theyre the iconic figureheads of the game) and for the most part im sure you all stared doe-eyed at the colours and fell upon a chapter you liked (for whatever reasons they may be). I've seen folks on here updating two or even three generations worth of Dark Angels or Space wolves and i personally think that's fantastic. Im also rather envious because i never had that level of connection from the off. Though ive fielded marines, i've never felt they were my guys.