New player with question regarding count as rule

Cyber_marine13

So I'm new to the game and want to create my own chapter. The thing i need clarification is: can i have my chapter master count as marneus calgar even if my chapter uses the BA codex? I like the calgar model and really want to use him but I'm not sure if this would be allowed. I have been told that for tournaments it wouldn't be but it should be fine for friendly games. If anyone can answer it would really help me.

You may not mix codexes, it is certainly against the rules.

Of course, you and your friends may change any rule you like, however you see fit, so long as you agree on the changes.

Hes not asking to mix codices, hes asking if he can use one model for another.

You can, by purchasing a captain with 2 powerfists, use the model. This will need to be explained to your opponent every single game however, as the idea of using C:BA for the Ultramarines is.... odd. I dont encourage you to do this, but it is certainly within the rules.

Hes not asking to mix codices, hes asking if he can use one model for another.

You can, by purchasing a captain with 2 powerfists, use the model. This will need to be explained to your opponent every single game however, as the idea of using C:BA for the Ultramarines is.... odd. I dont encourage you to do this, but it is certainly within the rules.

umm hes asking if he can use a BA model to reprisent a model from C:SM.. that would indeed be mixing codexes

My interpretation of the question is he wants to use the Marneus Calgar model in a BA army. as long as the Marneus Calgar model is be used as BA rules (likely a BA captain with 2 power fist) its legal.

To help make things right: