Blood Angels & Successor Chapter

ArcAngelShadi

Hello guys im new to warhammer 40k and i decided to do my first army on blood angels, but i hit a problem which chapter do i do.

I like the basic blood angels color scheme but everybody does it, im a little more interested in the successor chapters

so what im trying to say is how did you guys pick a chapter to base your army on.

I wanted a darker red paint scheme.

I also liked using an official chapter with little fluff making it easier for me to create my own.

That led me to the Angels Vermillion.

I started Blood Angels back in 3e because they were the ones on the cover and I was 12 or 13.. I thought I could handle the color scheme.

When I restarted my BAs at the start of 5e (my 3e army was stolen) I chose BA's yet again because they were what I was familiar with and I've always loved the fluff.

Now that my painting skills have advanced a bit, I sometimes regret not making my army Angels Sanguine. I love their color scheme. After all, I love the historical fluff of the BA's, and all Blood Angels successors share that history. Plus I love helmets... I don't for having bare-headed men, and the AS are all about helmets.

I was drawn to the dual nature of the Blood Angels. On one hand they're the most noble of all Astartes, but on the other, they have a dark streak to them. I loved the idea of the clash within the successors that was in the fandex and quickly aligned with Faust. I gave the name to the Chapter Master of my chapter and went with the idea of them trying to use the rage as a weapon that just needs to be mastered.

I didn't think this theme would fit with any of the established Chapters (well, maybe Knights of Blood), but I wanted complete freedom with my army so I just created my own Chapter.

The page of successor chapters in Codex Blood Angels is a nice one. I flip-flopped a lot.