Making a New Blood Angels Army

Khazorum

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on these forums. I recently started playing 40k and I'm considering converting my Ultramarines into Blood Angels. I don't have a lot of squads but here is what I have so far:

1 Captain (AoBR)

1 Terminator squad (5 man AoBR)

1 Assault Terminator squad (5 man)

1 Dreadnought (AoBR)

2 Tactical Squads (10 each)

1 Scout Squad with Sniper Rifles (5 man)

1 Vindicator

1 Land Raider Redeemer

I know most of these guys are shooty, but I was intrigued by the Blood Angels mobility and close combat capabilities. I was wondering if you could help direct me on what to buy/convert to make a more close combat oriented BA army.

Thanks!

Blood angels are assault orientated, but they can still field as mandy tac squads as an UM army would if they chose to. With that in mind you could go with what you already have, but if not then I'd recommend you make your army a bit more BA themed by picking up one of the specific BA sets. Ideally go for a BA battleforce. That way you can get enough parts to make a 5-man footslogging death company, 5-man assault squad on foot and a 10 man assault squad with JPs (or some combo of that) as well as a rhino for one of your tac squads. A chaplain model to lead the army and a priest or two might be good also, but you can always proxy models if playing with friends to get the feel for the army before you buy/repaint anything.

I would not buy the BA battleforce if I were you. You'd get alot of models that you'd have no use for. Instead I would buy 2 DC boxes and one Baal. Costs about 10£ more, but then you are getting 10 useful models with lots of bits and a useful tank, instead of 10 useful models, 10 useless (not useless, but less useful) models and a Rhino you'd want to cenvert into a Razorback anyway.

Its already been said but I will add mu voice. Your at the point now where you need assault marines and death company.