Newly enlightened follower

Cold Fire

Hi

I have recently acquired the CSM Codex and 2 boxes of 10 CSM.

Having had a quick flick through the codex I was disappointed by the lack of images of the different main Legions, but also with the lack of legion specific rules.

Before I start putting them together and painting them, I am undecided between painting as the Black Legion or the Word Bearers. Could someone enlighten me to the main differences, other than colour scheme, and if they conform to different styles of play. For example do they both field Korne Berzerkers, Plague marines etc. Does one lean towards snooty or CC.

Sorry if this is a bit of a noob question, I am a complete Chaos noob. These are as a change from painting my IFs.

Thanks in advance.

Long story short, BL use KB and PM, and WB use them less (ie. they are not main core of the legion), but can ally with those with ease. Pick your choice, and don't worry, chaos players anyway play using the same boring list all over.

Before I start putting them together and painting them, I am undecided between painting as the Black Legion or the Word Bearers. Could someone enlighten me to the main differences, other than colour scheme, and if they conform to different styles of play. For example do they both field Korne Berzerkers, Plague marines etc. Does one lean towards snooty or CC.

Black Legion are the "all-rounder" Chaos force. They use a wide variety of troops and cult units. Word Bearers will also use a variety of troops, but are more interested in the daemonic aspects of Chaos.

Sadly, in the latest Codex, Word Bearers are one of the most ill-equipped legions. Daemons suck, and all other "daemonic" options (with the exception of Daemon Princes) are quite lame.

Chaos players anyway play using the same boring list all over.

Well, you don't have to use the same list, but it is true that there are very few "good" choices left in our Codex <_<