Help needed starting army

Jamo26

Hi I’ve been painting Warhammer for 4 years now and been trying out about 3 armies but I’ve always been bored with the tiny amounts of conversion work and the lack of evil.

I recently saw a word bearer dark apostle (?) and I had to have it.

I'm buying the chaos space marine Battleforce and I’ve heard that chaos daemon prince is a must.

What i was wondering is what’s more useful 1 CSM squad, 1 defiler or 1 terminator squad.

I really like the defiler and terminators but i've heard they are big targets for enemy units.

My friends have a tau, space marine and Tyranid army and I want to play competitive

Also my budget is pretty low.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks :P

I'm buying the chaos space marine Battleforce and I’ve heard that chaos daemon prince is a must.

two actualy.

Also my budget is pretty low.

that is a huge problem.

What i was wondering is what’s more useful 1 CSM squad, 1 defiler or 1 terminator squad.

to start playing you will need . at least 1 HQ which for chaos means a DP . then [if you start at 1k] you get 2 troops . so 2 csm , 2 zerkers or 2 pms . ignore other units. buy rhinos for the two troops[no chaos does not do non mecha lists]. then you get 4 obliterators.

expansion of army looks like this . second DP oblits to 6 third troop choice . oblits to 9 . 2LR[if you ever want to play with a LR rush build] . 24 zerkers[if you dont have them already . if you do then you go for 30 csm]. 15 autocanon armed csm and 12 terminators . after that you dont have to buy any chaos models ever again under the dex we have.

also because "counts as" is a fully supported rule by GW , csm can double up as plague marines.

for all your asp champions you need fists . for each squad of csm/pm you need 2 specials. starting with a 2 to 1 mela plasma ratio is a good thing to do [at 1k it can 1 to 1 or you play with just melta].

^

That is assuming you'll be wanting a tournament viable army.