Mephy or Sanguinor

Mr.darkness

I am looking to buy another special character and have narrowed it down to meph or sanguinor.

Which one do you play more often?

Better value for points?

Just cooler?

I basically want to know your opinions on the two characters and which one is better.

I can post my army list of you want so ask if you think it will help.

I prefer to run Mephiston. Though, I enjoy running librarians, usually run him with two Wings/Might Lib Furiosos.

There is just something about a librarian that can tear apart Dreadknougths, MCs, and LRs with his bare hands.... and fly.

I've ran Mephiston quite a few times, and found that a lot of armies have an answer for him. He needs to be played very carfully, or else it's a total waste of points. The payout for the proper use of him though is immense.

Just recently I started playing with the Sanguinor, and i'm in love. There is no easy way to deal with him, having a 2+3++ save, almost always near a priest, and easy to hide behind armor, providing his buff to all troops, and ready to pounce. IMO, he's the biggest, baddest CC unit in the game, and took down a Swarm Lord + guards for me a couple games ago. The buff he gives to one of your sergeants is also one hell of a bonus, especially if the sergeant is near for the +1 attack aura as well. 5 PF attacks on the charge for that bugger. Absolutely devastating from one model, and an extra wound.

Depending on your meta though, you still might have to use a librarian as well for psychic defense, bringing your total HQ costs to at least 375 points.

You could also go about making a list that uses both Sanguinor + Mephiston. I've done this for my last 3 games and I've had an absolute blast! They hide behind boosting rhinos, with a termie deathstar unit in a stormraven. Not many lists have any kind of answer for THREE nigh unstoppable CC death machines that make combat on turn 2.

If you're limited to just one though, my recommendation would be the Sanguinor.