Heroic Intervention

Cirius

Hello Bolter & Chainsword! I'm new to this Forum. I have been playing 40k for over 18 years now, and have played most armies. But i have not played Space Marines since 3rd so i have a question about heroic intervention.

I have read it over and have come to the conclusion that you can not have an IC deep strike with the unit.

Heres what i;m thinking....

A unit of Vangurard Deep strike and make a heroic intervention. But can you perform the heroic intervention then have an IC join them when it is time for that IC to move? I.E the preform the heroic intervention, an IC is within 2' so he joins the unit after the have arrived? Does this work?

On the face of it, it sounds like it would work, except for the very last line where it states that Heroic Intervention cannot be used if there is an IC attached to the squad.

To clarify: Heroic Intervention is the ability to declare an assault after having arrived via Deep Strike that turn. Since the Independant Character joins the squad in the movement phase, before the assault phase, the squad cannot then declare an assault later on in that turn, as they have an Independant Character as part of the unit.

Edit: See this post for a thorough discussion.

Im not as sure.

Heroic intervention has to be declared before any scatter dice are rolled. At this point the unit isnt even on the table. Heroic intervention then says they may not shoot or run, but can assault if he has so declared... Much like declaring a squad is going to ground, it has certain restrictions that are placed upon it (much like the no run/shoot) and cant take cover saves if they arent allowed (much like how the Vangaurd cannot assault if out of range) but the action itself is the declaration.