Heavy support

1Drop

So I thought I was dead set on vindicators but I'm starting to think more and more that I'd rather bring daka predators, I'm not very experienced with heavy support units at all really so I am a total beginner in that respect.

What heavy support units do you bring? I am running mech lists and not planning on running DoA at all for the moment, I have devastators but I want tanks too and it's either gonna be two or three dakka predators or 2 or 3 vindicators or maybe a bit of a mix.... If you guys could tell me what you use and why and what I would be better off using providing I will be running either a mix of RB's and SR's or a landraider heavy list with Baal predators and multimelta attack bikes. I also will have atleast one of the furioso variants in all my lists.

I really prefer Dakka preds with Autocannons and Las sponsons. Some say they are too pricey, but I find Las sponsons pretty useful, and with dakka Baals and preds' autocannons they offer the required flexibility to my lists.

Other than Dakka Preds I plan on using Devastators with 2 plasmas and 2 missiles.

I really prefer Dakka preds with Autocannons and Las sponsons. Some say they are too pricey, but I find Las sponsons pretty useful, and with dakka Baals and preds' autocannons they offer the required flexibility to my lists.

Other than Dakka Preds I plan on using Devastators with 2 plasmas and 2 missiles.

Pretty much the same as me then, I've been thinking about the same loadout for dakka predators and the same for my devs too. I had thought of just the lascannon or autocannon turret to keep the points down but the. That won't scare my opponent very much and they will probably overlook them and target other stuff which I can't have so I think loading them out with autocannon and las sponsons will be the best option.

Untill recently I used a Auto/Las Predator and a Vindicator. Both offers mobility and High powered weapons able to deal with a multitude of threats.