Using a group of Land Raiders

Amelie

Hi guys, I'm new to the hobby, and the Blood Angels have caught my eye, alongside the awesome Land Raider kit. I know it can be used as a transport for many things, and I'd like to field as many as I can, my question is, what sorts of other units should I use to back them up? I know just spamming Land Raiders would have glaring weaknesses (melta, etc). How about taking cheap Predators to provide extra target saturation, or assault units in Storm Ravens? Would either of these work? Something like several small Assault Squads in Land Raiders and Baals/normal Predators for extra tank hulls? I'd love to hear some thoughts on this. ;)

Welcome to the B+C and the Blood Angels!

I don't think adding Predators helps Land Raiders all that much. Preds are scary, but not as scary.

I suggest Vindicators instead.

At least 1 Land Raider should carry a really scary assault unit, like assault terminators or Death Company or a tooled up Vanguard/Honor Guard.

Welcome to the B+C and the Blood Angels!

I don't think adding Predators helps Land Raiders all that much. Preds are scary, but not as scary.

I suggest Vindicators instead.

At least 1 Land Raider should carry a really scary assault unit, like assault terminators or Death Company or a tooled up Vanguard/Honor Guard.

Thanks for the welcome! :P Would normal assault squads (ten man) in Land Raiders, then Assault Terminators in Storm Ravens, work well?

Land raiders crusader/redeemers with assault termies, libbys and priests are good. Make sure you have a mix of all the land raider types as they all fill different roles . Maybe drop podding dreads as a distraction. Especially DC ones as they wouldn't take up termie or priest slots. ALSo if they deepstriked then they could take out the main threats to the land raiders, like MM attack bikes, fire dragons, etc...

Those are just some thoughts i had.