Alpha Legion: 10,000 year old marines?

Akylas

I apologize if this has been brought up before. I did a couple searches and ran through the first few pages of the forum and didn't find anything.

I'm fairly new to 40k and very new to Chaos marines. One thing I noticed a lot in the fluff I've read is that marines from the Chaos legions are quite frequently veterans of the Heresy. Explanations for this mostly seem to center around their hanging out in the Eye of Terror or Maelstrom, and the effects the warp has on time (so thousands of years can pass in the Materium and mere hundreds, decades, or less for them, as well as the effects warp exposure seems to have on aging).

I'm working on some fluff for my fledgeling Alpha Legion warband/cell and was thinking about the fact they spend most of their time outside the Eye of Terror in "real" space. Would it be realistic to assume they'd tend to be younger than, say, a group of Word Bearers, and more in tune with a loyalist chapter?

Yeah, well, there could be be some Heresy-era veterans about (though I doubt it), but as you noticed, the Alpha Legion tend to avoid warp/real-space areas, probably because they tend to make you insane and/or mutated.

So are correct in that Alpha Legion marines would generally be of the same age as more normal marines.

I suspected as much. I know there's no upper limit given to how long a Space Marine can live, but at the same time there don't seem to be many 10,000 loyalists (only ones that come to mind are that one Space Wolf Dreadnought and a Salamander from a BL book who would die if moved).

I'm sure that some Alpha Legionnaires fully turned to Chaos following the Heresy and went to live in the Eye/Maelstrom and who are still around kicking butt, but most AL avoided this route, so would live and die like how other marines live, and this means they would need to operate somewhat like a normal chapter.