Thinking of starting Chaos

FMPT

First off let me say I haven't played 40k for very long at all so i'm still pretty new to the whole thing.

So with that being said here it goes,

I currently play ultramarines, but am thinking of starting up a Chaos army, I'm not very familiar with them, so I do plan to pick up a codex later this week, so I can make a better decision, especially before I decide to completely burn my bf's Space Wolf soul by playing chaos, as he likes to say.

But anyway,

Does anyone have any suggestion or helpful tips in starting a Chaos army? What would be good to start with?

Right now FMPT you'll probably be a bit disappointed with a chaos marine army. Compared to your UM they're going to be sorely lacking in most choices. We really only have one competitive army list currently. But on the other hand we have alot of cool fluff/stories behind our legions/warbands and not too far around the corner we'll be getting Codex: chaos legions which will hopefully make us more competitive tournament-wise. Look through some of these by Brother Nihm. They're really helpful for someone just beginning a chaotic force or thinking about it. ;)

http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/index.p...howtopic=212235

http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/index.p...howtopic=195049

Ultimately if you're only looking for an army to stomp your bf's Space puppies, then chaos probably isn't the best for you at the moment. :D

... and not too far around the corner we'll be getting Codex: chaos legions which will hopefully make us more competitive tournament-wise.

You're really taking that rumour to heart, I see.