Cavalry charging around 1 unit to hit another

Jamie_Ibz

Hey,

I'm new to Bolter & Chainsword, and although I played 40K back in 3rd & 4th edition, I have just gotten back into 40K after a 2 year break. I used to play IG and picked up a Space Wolf battalion box a month or two ago. I'm re-learning all the rules and how much they've changed and with my new army, I happened to choose the most 'special rule heavy' army there is.

I've spent about 2 hours reading the 'Thunderwolves and power fists' threat but I have a different question.

Let's say I'm in my assault phase and my Thunderwolves are going to charge, say, an Ork Warboss. They have 12" of possible movement, assuming there is no difficult terrain to interfere. (This isn't about difficult terrain, it's about whether you can charge on a curve).

The Ork Warboss is, 'as the crow flies', 8 inches away. Well within 12" of charging distance.

However, he's got some boys in front of him. He's far enough away that he's not in coherency with them, and I'm not within 1" of the boys because I can't be unless I'm in CC with them.

------/--------------------Total 8"-------------\

TWC -- 2" -- Ork Boy on a 1" base -- 5" -- Ork Warboss.

Assuming that the total length of the curve necssary to get around the Boyz is 12" or less, can I charge around the Boyz to get at the Warboss? Keeping in mind that I've got to stay at least 1" away from them during the entire charge?

We got into a bit of a discussion at our local gaming store about how you must charge in a straight line and how if you could charge on a curve it'd "totally break the game". My response to this suggestion was that you just need to spread your Boyz (or whoever) out more and keep the model equally protected on both sides, or else curve your screening unit to make sure there is no open flank for the cavalry to hit you on. But the other player disagreed and said he'd competed in tournaments where this was not allowed.