Sanguinor, mephiston, dante and other special characters

As ive mentioned in another post here on the blood angel page im fairly new to 40k rules and gaiming wise. anyway how do you rate the blood angels special characters. Im paricularly intrested in the sanguinor and mephiston. How these guys have served you in the past. By all means dont just stop at these two any othere characters youd wish to add your two cents on would also be very cool.

Im also intrested in any wee storys you have to share. Mephiston blowing apart a daemon prince? the sanginor going toe to toe with abbadon? tycho pummeling a group of orc boyz to death with their own shoes? Your death company holding the line against impossible odds? let rip and feel free to share past glorys.

I don't have much experience with the Sanguinor, but, on paper, he looks absolutely beastly and worth every point.

Mephiston is just nuts. Retarded powerful. I don't think it's an exaggeration to call him the best offensive model in the whole game. There isn't anything he can't kill. He is a bit squishy with no invulnerable save, but, if your opponent doesn't have much AP 2 shooting, he can be nearly impossible to deal with. I personally think he is worth every point.

I have only used mephiston once, so this doesn't really have ,much stead to judge him, but he totally failed. I got a first turn charge against a daemon prince, got both psychic powers off,then got stuck in combat until the END of the game. Just stuck there with S10 re rolling hits, but not actually killing the guy. This obviously caused problems as it was only a 1500 pts list, so i had a good amount of my points sunk into him.

This is basically a warning, remember that he can fail, and he is a lot of points for that one guy who can flub.

As for the others, i only see astorath being useful if you real wanted more DC, which in meta environment you don't.