Noob DC and tactical squad questions

Hebime

Hey all:

I just started playing 40k and I chose the blood angels as my army. I was reading in the codex that for the death company the troops can have the following:

-boltgun or a bolt pistol

-chainsword

So I assumed that each model could have a bolt gun and a chainsword. But when I went to assemble them, the boltguns seem like they are two handed weapons. So I got confused about wheater this was legal or not. If it is legal, is there any advantage to using a chainsword with a bolt pistol?

Also the same problem would arise when assembling a regular tactical squad. The codex says that they have a boltgun and a bolt pistol. If the boltgun is placed on the model than does the player just assume that the model has a bolt pistol as well?

I realize that these are really noob questions but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Yes its legal. You need to cut the bolter off and find another suitable arm. When using chainsword I usually pick bolt pistol because you get +1 attack. I take bolters on guys with thunder hammer/power fist or lightning claw.

Edit: Actually you don't even need to show off the chainswords since they're default equipment and useless with a bolter.

Also the same problem would arise when assembling a regular tactical squad. The codex says that they have a boltgun and a bolt pistol. If the boltgun is placed on the model than does the player just assume that the model has a bolt pistol as well?

In this case: Yes.

If you model your DC with a Boltgun the chainsword has no function and therefor may be modeled but doesn't have to be. In the case of the Tactical Squad the bolt pistol must be modeled because it does serve a function. The ability to fire a pistol instead of a rapid fire weapon allows the Tacs to fire and assault. Should you choose to use this ability it must be modeled and cannot be assumed.