can you win without Daemon Prince?

Plaguecaster

Hey everyone I am fairly new to Nurgle and was wondering is it possible to win with a Nurgle based chaos marine army without a daemon Prince as I am more of a fan of Chaos sorcerers with mark of Nurgle as I like to have them lead a plague marine squad in a land raider.

cheers

It is possible, but to be honest you're trading one of the better HQ choices (Nurgle DP) for one of the worst (Nurgle Sorcerer). Remember that your DP can also take a psychic power so with the exception of the force weapon, there isn't anything the sorcerer can do better.

Now if you aren't a fan of a daemon prince, I would suggest a chaos lord with daemon weapon, as the Nurgle daemon weapon is actually one of the best.

Welcome to current chaos. Whilst distasteful in fluff, 2xDP > all other HQ options.

However that's only if you're playing competitively. If your playing for fun, fill your boots with sorcerers. Some games you'll have a riot

Yes, I have in several recent 2000 point battles.

I started with 2 Nurgle DP and several Plaguemarine squads, then changed to 1 Nurgle DP and 1 Nurgle Chaos Lord, now I am using 1 Nurgle Chaos Lord, 6 Plaguemarine squads and 3 Defilers or 1 Nurgle Chaos Lord, 5 Plaguemarine squads, a tooled up Nurgle Terminator squad and 2 Defilers.

My oppoenent uses Ultramarines.

G'day Talon,

No worries. I prefer my armies to have a background, they are not tournament winning combinations. I can have a good time and lose a battle (yep, even been thrashed and still enjoyed the battle). To me winning is not everything in a game!