Scout Snipers

Ryguy105

http://i.imgur.com/SI0KQ.jpg

This is my first near-complete work (been painting for almost a month now).

A few things, I am not good with the white (I like undercoating in black). So it's tough to get good coverage it seems. I haven't done the base yet. I'm not good with painting faces. And I can't figure out how to get these symbol cutouts to stick to the shoulderpads after soaking them in water. Any advice on these things?

I have more shots if anyone is interested. I took a break from these and have started on a Death Company squad with jump packs.

They're looking good mate.

White is always a pain in the neck to do I find. I use the Citadel foundation paints starting with either some sort of grey (adepts battle grey springs to mind) or tallarn flesh (I find the flesh gives a slight off-white look to it which I like). The foundations go well over anything so only 1 or 2 coats are needed :o

Personally, on my own scouts I went with an urban theme and did their cloth parts in greys and browns rather than white.

Those seem like cool ideas. It was suggested to me to possibly go over the white with a gray wash of some sort. I may lean toward that. But I really like how the white works with this. Just wish I could make it look better. I use all citadel paints by the way, that was the bleached bone one (I'm at work so I don't know exact name).

The only thing I really changed from the generic Blood Angels scouts that I see is the cloaks. I just don't see how the camo works well with the theme. And I really like red. Here is a few from the back:

http://i.imgur.com/khsXV.jpg