Mephiston vs. Thunder Cav.

Kasil

I am fairly new to 40k and came across my first opposing unit of thudner cav over the weekend. I charged in Mephiston with S10 and was looking to instakill as many as I could and then hope for the best after that. I landed 5 wounds, he made 5 saves and then proceded to smash Mephiston. Also, the there were only 3 Thunder Cav when he charged, I wasn't foolish enough to charge a deathstar.

So, is Mephiston vs. Thunder Cav. just a bad idea? Anybody have a rule of thumb, charge if the unit is only so many? Anybody else have a better experience here where Mephiston kills hundereds of points of thudner cav?

As a follow-up, if not mephiston, then what do you throw at Thunder Cav. to put them down?

They can all take Storm Shields. Only one can take a Thunder Hammer or other special close-combat weapon.

ok, didn't remember. Haven't faced TWolves since Adepticon.

Its pretty bad luck for Mephiston to charge in, even with them having storm shields, and not killing some. Did you get unleash rage off as well?

Only one Thunderwolf Cavalry can have a Storm Shield. And yes, why wouldn't you? Preferred Enemy and Unleash Rage make mince meat of Thunderwolf Cavalry.

The only time you DON'T want to charge is when there's a character-killing Thunderlord in there (Saga of the Bear, Thunder Hammer, Storm Shield, Wolf Tooth Necklace, Thunderwolf Mount). That guy will pound Mephiston into the ground.

DV8

No, on page 90 of the codex, the first bullet point states the following:

• Any Thunderwolf Rider may replace his bolt pistol with:
    -Boltgun.....................................XYZ points per model
    -Plasma Pistol.............................XYZ points per model
    -Storm Shield.............................XYZ points per model