So should I be building my rhinos with havoc launchers?

Urauloth

I'm pretty new to CSM and 40k in general and I'm curious as to what people make of havoc launchers. They seem like they'd be pretty effective against some armies, but adding to the cost of a transport vehicle makes me wince when I'm trying to keep the cost of my CSM squads down.

Do you use them, if so, do you recommend them? Is it worth the trouble of magnetizing them so I can try them out without being stuck with them?

My C:CSM friend has a Havoc on every Rhino he has, but they don't perform very well for him. Against me, in particular. He often rolls up a handful of wounds against one of my squads and then I promptly make all the armor saves, or all the saves but one. The speed with which I kill his Rhinos also decreases their worth.

This isn't to say that they can't do well for you, though- they'll do great against anything not on the level of Astartes.

they work pretty well for me, almost always makes up their points in kills. By buying the havoc launcher the rhino becomes a sort-of-razorback that can attack stuff at a very long range...and very accurately since they are TL. Even against mahreens they will do adequately due to the high str and possibility of hitting multiple models accurately. Heck, after destroying a squad's rhino they will be a bit bunched up anyway, the havoc launcher will hit several models, even with a 3+ save some will fail...due to the range the rhino can be halfway on the other side of the board and still have range to fire at something, and can fire at a different target or at a different time than the squad riding within it, because unlike real razorbacks our rhinos still have fire ports that can fire meltas...

...but I'll say, buy some magnets or pin them in place or something, and try for yourself and see how well/bad they do...

No, the havoc is twin linked. It's heavy one, blast, and twin linked.