My Blood Scars WIP

Blood Scars

Hi, I am new to the whole table top gaming. Just got into it early September. I have been a fan of 40k for many years since the first Dawn of War game but could not resist any longer to its original form. I was just inspired by all the great miniatures I have seen painted and hope to have a top quality painted army as I get into this hobby.

My friend got more into the fluff by reading the books and online info. I have just been getting into it as well. So randomly one night he was testing me on the original chapters and I said Blood Scars, guess I combined Blood Angels with White Scars... :P But we thought that was a cool name so I decided to build a custom space marine chapter army. I will be following the Blood Angels Codex.

I am new to painting miniatures but I do have artistic experience, studied some form of art all through grade school and went to a design high school for film. Totally did a 180 in college. So I wanted something to re touch with that artistic side and what better than painting some cool figures and battling with them. My friend is writing all the fluff for them.

I found this site randomly and saw the Space Marine Painter. I am basically doing a cross pattern of a crimson style red with a dark grey.

I am taking lessons from a new friend at a local hobby store that does lessons real cheap and takes commissions for local jobs from 40k to flames. He has been playing for 12 years. I have also been looking online and come across great tutorials so I am looking at all kinds of stuff to see what I will do. I like to do things right.