New To Chaos

Horus722

I am new to the game and new to Chaos. I have a Codex and I have a feel for what I want to put out on the board. I want to use the crazy stuff in the list to create chaos and have fun. Lords with Dweapons, Chaos Dreads, and I'm even thinking of throwing in some Possessed. But beside all that I can't pick a legion I like. I like the AL for its crazy insurgency war. I also like the Word Bearers because they have a philosophical feel to them. I also like the Night Lords for their color scheme and use of terror tactics and hit and run. I need some help deciding.

Nah, don't feel dumb for asking a question....

Yes, it is a frequently asked question by those who are interested in chaos but aren't sure which way to take their armies, no biggie really. Just take a few minutes and browse through the threads and see what you find. You might find you can answer your question that way.

Sadly, at least for now, what DG has said is true. Our current codex lacks in many ways. (and there are tons of threads on that as well)

;)

~BtW

Chaos isn't legions anymore. It is warbands.

A warband can be anything you want it to be.

You could create a warband with Alpha legion infiltrators (chosen marines), aligned/manipulating a Word Bearer host (Possessed, Grunt marines) who are in turn backed up by dispossessed cynical Night Lords (Raptor cult).

Or you could go with common wisdom and build a warband of one parent legion.

Neither is wrong.

Easiest way IMO if none of the choices call out to you is to paint a test marine of all three Legions, and whichever looks best choose that.

Warning: The chaos codex generates bitter hatred against shiny Imperial codex's. I personally don't recommend the Chaos codex if you are competitive.

I would say the three important things to consider are... fluff, rules and hobby...

So by fluff I mean what background do you like the most? Including things like colour scheme.