What's the best way to run Dante?

sonofpollux

I'm trying to figure out the best squad to run with Dante. Sanguinary Guard? Honor Guard? Assault Squad? What?

This is what I was thinking

Honor Guard:

Jump Packs

Chapter Banner

meltagun x1

infernus pistol x2

thunder hammer

power sword x2

Total: 295

What are you guys thoughts? I tried to make it melta heavy to take advantage of Dante's Tactical Precision. It's also a sort of deathstar, but what do you guys think?

I'm new to BA but I think it's too spread out. I've been considering making an Honor Guard unit as well but I think that you have to go one way or the other (with any unit, though). I'd say drop the melta gun and infernus pistol and go on as is for the remainder of the squad or drop the special weapons and get those 4 melta guns you can fill them up with. If you do that then there is a unit that can deepstrike or drop pod and has a solid chance of killing any tank out there. Bye bye Land Raider.

Dante would make sure they land where they want to if you're going DoA but I personally will try Dante with a 10 man Assault Marine squad with maybe a Sanguinary Priest. This way they can still melta something pretty well, 2 meltas and 1 infernus from Dante but they're big enough so that they should survive a counter assault and hopefully any ranged fire they attract what with 12 bodies and feel no pain. I haven't tried it though, I guess I'm just playing the numbers. Hope that helps!

What are you guys thoughts? I tried to make it melta heavy to take advantage of Dante's Tactical Precision. It's also a sort of deathstar, but what do you guys think?

The problem with using him like that is that he is very exposed to any counter charge and then he gets sniped out of the squad. Dante needs a lot of padding from extra bodies or invul saves (stormshields).

I really like running danet with a full 10 man RAS squad, backed up by a priest.

Its a picey unit overall, but it is really good.

Dante 225