Monstrous creature firing two weapons

Fang of Morkai

Allright, first off I am still relatively new to the hobby. I did use the search function but did not find something that awnsered my question. I was a spectator to a game tonight and here is what happened.

Eldar vs Grey Knights.

The Eldar player said that the Wraithlord (who was equipped with Brightlance and sword) was able to fire two weapons at the same time per Monstrous Creature rule. (I checked the BRB he is correct). But that since the Wraithlord only had a Brightlance he could fire it twice. Now I am still new but I am pretty sure that is a big no-no. And per Eldar rule equipping a second brightlance would make it TL, MC or not and therefore not allowed to fire twice the same weapon.

We argued a bit, he mentionned it was debated on the forums (named a few which I will double-check) and the general consensus was that just like the Tyranids weapons (can't remember which one he was talking about, not a Nid expert) it meant firing the same weapon twice.

Don't know if my question is clear but it's about as clear as it was explained to us. Quite frankly I am pretty sure of the awnser but I want to see this general consensus first hand.

Thoughts?

He was incorrect, though there is no rule in the book that disallows firing the same weapon twice (to the best of my searching ability).

What matters is the rule itself:

"Instead of firing a single weapon, monstrous creatures can fire two of their weapons once per Shooting phase." p.51

It says "two of their weapons," not "two of their weapons, or the same weapon twice,." 40k is a permissive rule set, which means that if it doesn't say you can, you can't. This rule doesn't say you can fire the same weapon twice, thus you can't.

What matters is the rule itself:

"Instead of firing a single weapon, monstrous creatures can fire two of their weapons once per Shooting phase." p.51