Beginner Here - Army List Advice

crocker

Hi,

This is my very first post and i'm looking to get an understanding of 40K, i did have some models when i was a lot younger but never really understood the rules and now have took an interest again. Really like the look of the Dark Angels and was looking for some advice on what units to purchase to create a small army. I'm assuming that regardless of what army you choose their is several ways in which you can play them. I am not really a big fan of loads of tanks but except from that i'm open to any suggestions.

Cheers,

Chris

It depends what sort of army you want to go for - whether you are wanting something competitive or if you want to go with units that you like - and of course how many points you are looking to go for?

Generally speaking, a Deathwing force is seen as the most competitive build - but unless you are happy going Terminator-heavy it may not tick all the boxes for you. Personally I would recommend a little mix-and-match between the regular 'greenwing' marines and some Terminators so as to get a little taste across the codex.

I find that Tactical Marines (while relatively expensive points-wise) provide an Ok base - perhaps two units split into combat squads with Razorbacks is handy. Then perhaps a Devastator Squad or two (I tend to use Missile Launchers) and then a Terminator Squad or two (with Land Raider Crusader?) and Belial (he's cheap and your terminators become troops with the bonus of a banner and apothecary). From there you can add some extra punch with a Dreadnought, Vindicator, or Melta-packing bikes etc, it's really up to you and what you like the look of - plus what sort of forces you are likely to meet in your local area / gaming group.

While I appreciate you don't like tanks, the Razorbacks will give you that extra protection to keep your tactical marines alive longer as well as deliver them where you need them for objective grabbing.