Total Beginner

crocker

Hi all,

Recently joined this great website and i'm looking to start getting involved with 40K, really like the look of the Blood Angels and i'm looking for some advice on an Army List.

After reading a few topics i think i would like a more infantry based army but not too sure where to start.

Could someone help please?

Thanks,

Chris

Hey brother, welcome to B and C!

For any army I start, regardless of the codex I always base it around 1 HQ and a solid selection of troops. From there it's preferential based on what style of an army you want to play.

If you're doing an infantry based army that leaves a few choices. Are you going to use jump pack infantry or have the guys roll up in a transport? I would suggest something like this for starting

2-3 x 10 Assault Marines w/ Jump Packs, 2 Melta Guns and Power Fist

OR

2-3 x 10 Assault Marines w/ 2 Melta Guns, Power Fist and Rhino

The meltas allow you to destroy tanks from up close and greatly threaten monsterous creatures or low armor save targets like Terminators (who save on a 2+ normally) The power fist also helps you to kill the same units but from an assaulting perspective. A lot of versatility in both this armament.

From that point, again this is preferential, I would look towards Devastators for long range support and just add in what you think would be effective or look cool. I can build a list for you for any given point value if you want a full on example. I personally play a full mechanized shooting list but I could still offer some suggestions.

Thanks so much for the great reply, sounds like the Jump Packs is a good idea with the assualt squads with Devastor squad.

That would be ideal if you could put a quick list together as i have absolutely no idea on what i should be purchasing! I think starting with a 750 point army is a good start? if you think i should start with bigger then thats cool too.

Thanks once again.

Chris

Sure, I can make up a list for you...

750pts: