Is the current codex only allowing cookie-cutters?

dendrofil

(Pre-apologies for potentially starting another thread on an old, dead and burried topic.)

I might as well introduce myself since I'm new to the current iteration of the Codex Chaos, I've been playing 40k for a good 15-16 years and the last few years I've been dreaming of creating an army in Malal's image (yup, I know of hushrong's excellent "Labyrinth" thread" already).

After playing my Blood Angels since 40k2 and owning an old Necron army, a Tau army and a whole bunch of Eldar thingies, I finally found some time between work, my family and everything else that needs doing, to start my Sons of Malice-army.

Now to the real issue, even though I probably won't play too many games with them , I still want the army to be playable when I do so I surfed the best source of SM-knowledge there is on the interwebz (i.e. B&C) to find some things to put in my list and people's reflections about our options.

What I found was that the current edition doesn't really allow for much tweaking and different ways. Of course some combo's are always stronger than others, but are things like Terminators, Thousand Sons and Defilers more or less dead and out of the picture?

Obviously the codex is very lackluster in the choices both for units and equipment, but are the coolest things available (in my opinion) so bad on the gaming board that there is no real point in fielding them other than for the look and fluff?

Are there a lot of players out there using more or less the same kinds of lists with the lash-prince and such, or is it just my brain filtering it all in a very wrong way?

Well the good news is that the current chaos codex probably wont be around for very much longer.

The problem is see with the current codex is that some units are just not worth taking.

If you ripped the fast attack and elites sections out of the book entirely you wouldn't be missing out on anything.