Jump to content

Psychic Communion


Archon_77

Recommended Posts

Been having some issues in my local scene with this rule, many of my adversaries often claim I have to use this power before I roll for reserves, then have to deterimine if I want to modify the roll or not. This just seems unecessarily silly to me, as the rule is worded that you can modify your roll (implying to me that the roll itself has to be made already). Thoughts?
Link to comment
https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/243110-psychic-communion/
Share on other sites

Read them the rule. Show them the rule. Then, slap them silly.

 

"This power can be used at the start of teh Grey Knight's Movement phase. If the Psychic test is successful, you can modify any reserve rolls made this phase by..."

 

It can't be any more clear that they're wrong...

Here is how I use it.

 

Start of second turn.

Cast psychic communion

roll first reserve

modify it

roll second reserve

modify it

etc

 

I don't feel you can roll all your reserves and then modify them, as you can't do that with other reserves. I also feel you need to cast the ability before you roll, otherwise how can you modify the roll?

Read them the rule. Show them the rule. Then, slap them silly.

 

"This power can be used at the start of teh Grey Knight's Movement phase. If the Psychic test is successful, you can modify any reserve rolls made this phase by..."

 

It can't be any more clear that they're wrong...

 

Well,.. I believe this is exactly how Archons adversaries wants it to be played ;) You cast the power not to modify a particular roll, but for the ability to modify all rolls - just as nurglez describes :)

Here is how I use it.

 

Start of second turn.

Cast psychic communion

roll first reserve

modify it

roll second reserve

modify it

etc

 

I don't feel you can roll all your reserves and then modify them, as you can't do that with other reserves. I also feel you need to cast the ability before you roll, otherwise how can you modify the roll?

Seconded, this is how I interpret the rule wording as well.

Read them the rule. Show them the rule. Then, slap them silly.

 

"This power can be used at the start of teh Grey Knight's Movement phase. If the Psychic test is successful, you can modify any reserve rolls made this phase by..."

 

It can't be any more clear that they're wrong...

You're leaving out the important part:

 

"This power can be used at the start of the Grey Knight's Movement phase. If the Psychic test is successful, you can modify any reserve rolls made this phase by +1 or -1 (choose after each dice roll has been made)."

 

As it states that you have to choose after each dice roll (each indicating one by one, as opposed to after every dice roll or after all dice rolls), you seem to have to have the power cast after you want to modify your first reserve roll that phase at the latest.

 

So you'll have to think about the order in which you roll your reserves that round too, if you want certain units to come on the board at the same time.

So then, does one deepstriking/reserving happen as part of the movement phase or before as a sort of special phase?

 

It's the start of the Movement phase. So it's in the movement phase, but before you do any actual moving besides arriving from reserve, but after you rolled to see which units arrived from reserve.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.