Basic Question: How do your 10 man Assault Squads Perform?

Kasil

I have been playing BA for about 6 months now and have never actually used a 10 man assault squad (general load out of 2 melta, power fist). I run a dual SR army, with termies in one and Mephiston in the other. I do use 5 man assault squads in razorbacks and they generally hold objectives while all the stuff in the stormravens cleans up, which means they don’t see much action.

Anyway, I have been considering sticking two 10 man assault squads in the stormravens as something different. I have some reservation because I am being aggressive with my troop choices and I am not really sure how well they will perform. Note that the two squads will have one sang priest (hopefully staying in a SR) for buff support.

So, what are some of your experiences with 10 man assault squads? Do they get shot to pieces when not in combat? Do they get bogged down easily? Are they useless against other more dedicated assault units? Or do they hold their own well and work out in most situations?

Assault Squads on their own will not win against nasty assault units. Just won't happen.

But properly buffed with priests, chaplains or Librarians for unleash rage or supported so they hit units in pairs or with something more potent like Vanguard or Sanguinary Guard they do very well.

For inside a Storm Raven though, I'd tend to look at Vanguard without jump packs, Death company or Assault terminators over Assault marines.