Vanguard Veterans. Why I will use them.

Master Melta

Ok Marines. I know point for point, especially the way I wan to run these dudes, Vanguard Veterans are the RHSC of the marine dex.

I get that. However, I am going to use them, not in Thade's humble loadout, but in fact with Jump Packs and BANKING on Heroic Intervention.

My loadout is 345 points. WHAT? But you say: That's 5 assault terminators, 2 landspeeders with MM and Heavy Flamers, with melta bombs for a random SGT to boot!

Yeah, I get that too. I swear I do.

Basically I have been running Mech Marines for 2 years now. I love them, I really do, and I am starting a new, codex:marines army, despite having about 4K points of my lovely Iron Hands. I just like the marine models so much, I want more, but I've been there and done that on MEQ, so I am going with a force that deploys via Drop Pods.

I won't post my full detailed list here because the root of this thread is to declare, shamelessly, to the B&C heretics, that despite better judgement, I am going to MAKE Vanguard Veterans(with jump packs and HI) not only worth taking, but prove that the unit and the rules and gear they come with are game breakers.

Also, since I am posting this in the tactics thread, I would like to stubbornly discuss why this unit will be good and record accounts of their heroism.

Finally, they are just down right awesome. The models, whether I get the finecase box set(I want it) or I just convert super epic awesome veterans, will be a centerpiece both for the hobby side and the gaming side of the army.

At my local store, tourneys are almost always 2250. (Oh, wait, I forgot to mention until now that this is absolutely and entirely a consideration for competative codex marine play.) With the points and the tourney in mind, here is the unit that I will use, until I figure out vs everything amaginable or 6th's comes out.