Drop Pod

henrywalker

So i just got given a drop pod, something i've never used before.

all my blood angels have jump packs bar the death company and i have a few dreads including a DC dread and a librarian. I also have a storm raven.

my question is, what do i use the drop pod for tactically speaking? i could imagine putting a dread or 10 death company in it. any other ideas? are they worth taking?

Thanks

Just be careful where you land that first turn drop pod. Alot of times it is tempting to do a suicide run and place the drop pod/dreadnought where you can do the most damage, but many times it is just a was of points. If you place it out of sight of you enemies but close to them, you can often get a second turn assault which can tie up some of your opponents army.

What I typically put on drop pods:

Sternguard, tactical, devs, dreadnoughts (all varieties)

I drop pod devs, tact and sternguard just as a matter of being able to place them where I want and make the best use of their shooting potential. Mostly I drop my dreads as a means to get them up the board faster, but sometimes you get the oppertunity to put a dread next to a isolated unit that can't handle it

For BA, drop pods are usually best for Dreads IMO.

Drachnon made a great point. I've made live easier on myself a few times by placing the pod between myself and heavy weapon toting infantry (IG Heavy Weapon squads and SW Long Fangs especially.) They either need to waste a turn shooting at the pod or give up and hand out free cover saves to whatever else they'd shoot at.

Two Lucius Pattern Dreadnought Drop Pods, each holding a DC Dread with talons dropped on either side of an opponents Green Tide during an Apoc game resulted in over 40% losses to the green skins in the initial assault. The second round of assault, the tide was down to 18 out of a starting 120. That was the one time the dice gods decided to smile upon me. And I have since named those Dreads, Brother Frappe and Brother Puree.