I need help with a scout-heavy armylist.

Stormshadow

Hello!

I need help to put together a scout-heavy armylist. The “must haves” are Telion with 8 snipers and a ML, one squad of scout bikes and two Lad speeder storms ( I have never used either before). "Can’t have" are tanks other than Land Raiders and transports.

I don’t have a codex on me so I have no idea about the points but I have been thinking along the lines of:

HQ:

Shrike

Lysander

Elites:

10x Sternguard: Power Fist, 8x kombi melta, 2x missile launcher.

Ironclad Dreadnought: 2x HK missile, Frag launcher, Drop pod. (and a HF if he doesn’t have one already)

Troops:

10x Scouts: Telion, ML, 8xsniper rifles.

5x Scouts: Power Fist, Combi-melta, Melta Bomb, 4x ccw/Bolt Pistol.

5x Scouts: Power Fist, Combi-melta, Melta Bomb, 4x ccw/Bolt Pistol.

Fast Attack:

10x Scout bikes. Power Fist, Combi-melta, Melta Bomb. 3x Grenade launchers.

Landspeeder Storm: Multi Melta

Landspeeder Storm: Multi Melta

My thoughts are that the speeders, bikes and the Ironclad make 4-6 priority targets that wave to be dealt with. Shrike and Lysander infiltrate with the Sternguard, which will hopefully be able to rapid fire with rerolls in turn one . In a best case scenario I get the first turn and destroy all my opponents vehicles turn one, he then has no were to hide from my sternguard.

Yes, greatcrusade08's tacticas and writings are essential reading if you're considering scout anything.

One brief thing i'll point out right away is that your infiltrating sternguard are

1) A big target, with 2 expensive HQ's attached.

2) Unlikely to get into melta range, even while infiltrating. Such a big unit is unlikely to be completely out of LOS of a target unit - which means you're starting 18" away. Even assuming a full 6" movement, you're not going to be in melta-effect range on your first turn.

give it a little while and he'll no doubt post here. :(