New Guy!

CSSXCIV

Hey guys I thought this would be a great place to get a lot of info so I wanted to see what you guys had to say.

First Ill tell ya a little about my situation. I am totally new to the world of 40K. Ive always been a geek with geek friends and as such Ive seen the game around but never gotten into it. My roomate used to work for GW over in England and is CRAZY about 40K so he has infected me. I have read a few books and talked to him quite a bit as well as reading these forums for a few days now. So Ive got some basic understanding and an idea of what I want to do. That being said I am open to suggestions and tips about every aspect of the game.

I am intrigued by the Iron Warriors. They seem like the type of army I could get really into. I enjoy the heavy metal meticulous siege mentality. That is the approach I take to most RTS games Ive played.

I am planning a trip to the local GW store this weekend to buy minis and such to start my new army. Any suggestions on what I might want to pick up to start me on my way?

My roomate is talking about 500 point armies to start. I would hate to go buy minis that I wont use later as I expand my army though.

Feel free to ask any questions or post any tips hints or advice you think I might find useful. I will try to check back here often and answer any questions or ask new ones as the need may be.

Hello and welcome to Warhammer 40K!, please say goodbye to your free money and time it is now a thing of the past. ;P

500 points gives you very little wiggle-room when constructing a force to begin playing with. It's not a bad thing by any means, but you won't have many shiny toys or very complex games in that point range. Flipside is that will make it easier for you to learn the game, rules, and paint the army as you build upon it.