Considering Chaos

Brother Terrus

So, here we are! I'm new to playing 40k, (Like, don't have any models yet, but have been interested for quite some time and am making a first purchase soon!) and my first love was Chaos, though in the time since I've found the Dark Angels catch my fancy too. Given the fluff, I'm somewhat taken to the idea of just doing Dark Angels and calling them Fallen when I want to play Chaos until I can afford to branch into some chaotic power armour.

Anyway, to focus more on what I like about Chaos, A.) They're the archetypical bad guys, and I love playing the bad guy for some reason. B.) MAGIC! Chaos Sorcerers are just cool, and while Librarians are alright, they have that nagging Imperial Inquisition to deal with. C.) Chaos has cooler war-cries, "For Ultramar!"? Nah, I prefer, "KILL! MAIM! BURN!". Tzeentch is probably my favorite Chaos God, though my predilection to beating on things also has me flirting with Khorne! Leave it to the renegade fence-sitter to not know what god to worship, eh?

Well the beauty of Chaos is that you don't have to worship any one god. You don't even have to serve the gods. You can just gain daemonic pacts and have allies in the warp or just strike out on your own so you can build your own empire or just fight as a mercenary so you can watch the Imperium burn. I personally am a Night Lords fan because they are fierce murders who inspire terror and panic as they spread their hate throughout the galaxy. Although I have to admit that Beneath the Flesh has turned my towards the Flesh Tearers. But ultimately we the servants of Chaos are all fence-sitters in the end. It provides an oppurtunity for us all to grow without the restrictions imposed on us by the Imperium and its thin-blooded lapdogs.