Raptors or Dread?

KANE1203

So heres my dilema. I can afford either a dread off FW or a box of Raptors and some paint. Im new to gaming (I mainly paint) and was wondering wich would be the better choice. I only have 2 squads of 7 CSM and a deamon prince. (500 pts total) and have been running into trouble with land speeders and bikes. The dread with auto cannons could solve a little of the problem but then again he could also turn his weapons on any of my units. The raptors would be nice because they would engage quicker but they lack the fire power to really take on any vehicles. Strategy and advice for both would be appreciated.

Im new to gaming (I mainly paint) and was wondering wich would be the better choice.

better for painting or for gaming ? if painting then the dread is a nice pice of a model , while the raptors are a unit so while harder/longer to paint to a master class level you end up with more oportunity to show of your skill.

gaming wise , both are bad , technicly the raptors should do better [which doesnt mean good].

Sorry about that. Meant gaming. Eventually I will get both but which would be better in a small/normal pt game? The raptors cost more points as well but would iy be worth it? The dreads auto cannons have range 48 and if you add Twin linked bolters it gives you 1 more attack. (4 total)

The standard advice for Chaos when it comes to game play is that HQ, troops and Heavy Support sections of the codex are chaos' strengths.

Elites and Fast attack to to range from terrible to Meh or overpriced, that being said they are still usable.

I personally would go with the dread.

1) I think the FW Dread models are far more awesome than the raptors.

2) Rumour has it that there is a new bunch of raptors on the way, if Chaos really is coming out straight after 6th edition... So I would be tempted to wait and see what 6th brings...