What to do I paint until the new dex?

Wayward

Im a slow painter, and a slower modelist. Time isnt as cheap to buy like it was back in the day. On top of that, family issues left me with even less of my already scarce free time (LPC vow WILL be fullfilled, probly during sleep time :tu:). So, I have to manage my free time wisely...

I have tons of things to assemble and paint, but dont knowing what direction the new dex will take, and I would feel miserable if I spend 2 months on a couple of units that will become obsolete or wont make their points back... And almost everything I painted until now of my DA was for fun, so Im lookin for some game-worth material to be done.

So, what proyects do you think I can embark on without fear, modeling wise, on the verge of the new dex? I have stashed almost a couple of everything, marines, termies, bikes, vets, dreads... Some painted, most of them not. What I lack the most is vehicles, I have only one rhino painted, four more semi-assembled and a land raider at half process. All those vehicles are scratchbuilt, so they will require a bit extra of time to finish. I pretend to make the rhinos razorbacks too. So, what do you say Brothers, should I go down to the vehicle armory and stay there until the new dex arrives?

Yes.

I have a vets squad I am leery of finishing because I dont know what options will they have in the new book. However I just bought my first pod (anticipating a points drop) and I have a Rhinoback to finish and more to purchase. Rhinobacks, Pods and Raiders are not going away and everyone needs some.

Even if a new dex is on the horizon (October seems like a half decent shout), I will be finished my Dark Angels this year and will not be spending huge amounts of money on any more GW stuff. My logic is thus:

- My main, tournament army, is Deathwing. Deathwing are an iconic army in the 40k universe. Whether we get rolled into Codex:Vanilla or not, GW will not kill my army off.