DC and VV loadout

IMO, don't bother planning for Vanguard Veterans without jump packs. The main advantage that VVs have over other units in the codex (between the Honor Guard, Sanguinary Guard, Death Company, and regular Assault Squads) is Heroic Intervention, which only works with jump packs. Sure, they would still be pretty nice in a Land Raider or such, but at that point I would prefer Death Company anyways.

Anyways, from what I can tell (I'm still pretty new to actually using the BA codex), it's usually considered best to include at least one Power Fist or Thunder Hammer in each unit just in case of having to deal with gigantic armored tanks or walkers, with the rest as a your-preference mix of ablative wounds (no equipment at all) or power weapons, possibly with lightning claws if you're a really big fan of those. The Power Fist or Thunder Hammer becomes especially important for Death Company that can get kited around the field or baited into bad situations really easily.

I have found some success in running a Vanguard with a few sotrm shields, a power weapon (or lightning claw to taste) and a fist (or hammer). Add 1-2 meltabombs. Though this is usually a bit bigger than 5 man, at 5, I'd probably trim it a little. only 1 power weapon/fist most likely.

DC, at 5 man, I'd take 1 power weapon, 1 fist and thats it.

VV, Jumppacks, Double Powerweapons OR a Powerfist, and some Meltabombs. Leave one naked for wound allocation.

- Cheap, kills shooty units/stationary vehicles good.

With 10 Vanguard, I take a powerfist, 2 powerweapons, a lightning claw, and 4 Meltabombs. Combat squad the elements as needed.

5 Death Company, Jump Packs, Thunderhammer, Power Weapon, lead by Jump Pack Chaplain.

Larger squads, No Jump Packs, depends on transport. Landraiders/Stormravens get a couple of power weapons and a couple of fists, and BP+CCW, Rhinos get Bolters and double powerfist/TH