Sons of Horus Captain

Rob_Loken

Hi folks,

I recently Dettol-ed my Masters of the Chapters. I've painted one as a Pre-Heresy Iron Warrior and my plan was to paint up another in the colours of the Emperors Children. Unfortunately my laziness meant that I couldn't be bothered to mix up a suitable purple so I decided instead to work out how to paint the Sons of Horus. So this is how far I've gotten, who knows, if I'm feeling really sadistic I may try and paint 500 points worth of the Sons of Horus for Kill Team games. Doubt it though. ;)

http://i958.photobucket.com/albums/ae63/Astartes_Loken/IMG_1266.jpg

http://i958.photobucket.com/albums/ae63/Astartes_Loken/IMG_1268.jpg

If you run the photo through photoshop it can turn even a bad photo into a decent one 90% of the time. Sense im not a photo expert myself I rely on that a lot. Auto Level and Auto color does the trick 75% of the time with poor lighting. FWI I turned that same model body + bits into a great emperors children sarg. Is that NMM gold?

Thanks I'll look into some of the photo editing software I've got, I'll be honest I only ever use it for cropping but I think it's about time I got to grips with it all. The gold is normal metal, I start of with Calthan brown and slowly work in shining gold and then Mithril silver on the highlights. I'll hopefully get some more done on him today and post the results up tonight.

Cool, I do the same (cropping) and for my gold i tend to base with Tau Ochre/Solar Orange 1:1, then Shining gold, then Mithril silver. Its a VERY bright gold at that point so I just give it a Sepia wash to tone it down if needed.