New Chaos Player ere

gogsmash

So I've grown a little bored with my plain old Ultramarines and have decided to start a chaos marines force. I really like the Cleaved paint scheme but as I am a novice painter I'm not sure I can pull it off - my second choice would be Word Bearers. Also I can't decide what to buy after my nurgle daemon prince. The battleforce would be a good option but I really don't want the berzerkers (my friend also collects chaos and he has a lot of zerkers so I am trying to be as different as possible). And I hear possessed are pretty bad. What do you advise I get?? I have a budget of around £70 by the way. :D

I am not one to believe rumors 100%, but you may want to wait until May to make any purchases. By that time it will be clear whether or not Chaos is getting a new book in that month. It might be boring, but to keep it safe I'd just go with 20 CSMs with 2 Rhinos, with as many Oblits as you can afford.

If you like the cleaved you can run both squads as Icon of Nurgle fellas, with 1 squad having Plasma x2 and the other having Melta x2, but straight count-as Plague Marines would be more effective.

If you had any sterguard in your Ultramarines and like special ammunition, using a 6 or 7 man squad of Thousand Sons with a Rhino might be a welcome addition to any chaos list. (call be biased)

Welcome to the Realm of Chaos.

Convert the zerkers into regular marines? Easy enough, either kitbash with the spare parts, and shave off the Khorne icons, bunny ears etc, or green stuff. Or trade with your friend?

Mix the possessed and marines together to give you Word Bearers Chaos Space Marines, with mutations. Fits their background. Use any helmeted, non mutated marines as the Cleaved.

This is all from a modelling point of view, not a gaming one I hasten to add, so if you want competitive I'm not the guy to ask! :D