WIP imperial fists (positive feedback and tips!)

primarche

hey guys im looking for some positive feedback and tips on what to do to improve my imperial fists they are not done but they are the first ones ive ever painted in that paint scheme and im looking on ways to improve or change as i am a novice painter and fairly new to warhammer im about a year into it!

anyway what i used for the models:

daemonic yellow primer

then i washed the model with gryphonne sepia

then i used fire red for the trim

and then i simply washed the model again with gryphonne sepia or until i got that battle hardend look i wanted!

its a very simple and easy process just let me know what ya think!

http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/w456/primarche/SANY0078.jpg

http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/w456/primarche/SANY0075.jpg

http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/w456/primarche/SANY0076.jpg

http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/w456/primarche/SANY0070.jpg

http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/w456/primarche/SANY0079.jpg

my imperial fists pictures!!

I would go a black wash on the chest eagles and boltguns (and of course drill the barrels) I would also spot color the eyes with "Len's" colors other then the wash color. I have always liked blue or green on IF. Take it for what its worth.

Well credit goes to you for having a go at painting some Fists! Must admit these look better than my first attempts. If the grittyness is what your after then you could always add some battle damage as well.

As for the yellow, it does look a little too dark, but if you like it then that is all that matters. I'd probably go over the yellow again with golden yellow and leave the crevasses dark.

For the red, I've had some success with red gore, and highlighting it blood red, then washing the whole lot with baal red wash. Comes out a nice red.

For the eye lenses, either red, blue or green work well, but that's up to you. I favour the green myself.

Hope that helps! Keep it up!