Starting blood angels

gilljoy

Hey all,

I'm currently a space wolves player and I'm considering starting a blood angels army, mainly because I want to paint red and I want to assualt things, also psyker dreadnoughts are just amazing sounding.

Anyway I've picked up the codex and I was wondering whats the best way to go about starting an army? Is the battleforce a worthwhile purchase or is it not that good? I'm also considering picking up black reach instead of the battleforce, mainly because a mini rule book would be handy and I could sell on the orks. Would either of these be a good starting point?

Im no expert, but from what ive gleaned a lot of people would tell you to skip tac squads and just buy a RAS

two squads of 10, a Sang priest and a jump pack chappie rounds out at about 750 points which is always a good start, its what im going for anyway

TJ

Im no expert, but from what ive gleaned a lot of people would tell you to skip tac squads and just buy a RAS

two squads of 10, a Sang priest and a jump pack chappie rounds out at about 750 points which is always a good start, its what im going for anyway

TJ

Ah ok so neither are that good value wise to start with, shall have to have a look at some lists.

Well its not bad, and both boxes give you a nice selection of troops. I favoured that approach too, currently i just have a tac, chap and 10 man ras, some BA players play with a nice big varied force, im just saying that the lists ive seen up here comprise largely of RAS, either with jump packs or in razorbacks

Financially a battleforce or black reach may be a better option, though i imagine a battleforce would better suit your desire to assault things. let the blow flow freely in the name of Sanguinus, brother!

You get 10 jump packs in the BA box, enough to make a 10 man RAS squad and a 10 man death company in rhino, should you so desire, just add a chaplain and youre good to go.