First painted mini in a decade

DexC

So, I just finished painting my first mini for about ten years. I started playing in 2nd edition, but never really did much painting. I've got a bunch of my old minis soaking in Dettol to strip and a couple of RAS squads waiting, but I thought I'd start by painting some snap fit minis so as not to wreck anything important with my first experiments.

Having finished it, I was fairly happy with it. Then I took pictures, and noticed loads of stuff that looked really bad. So, if anyone has any pointers, I'd really appreciate it. I'm obviously not an especially good or steady-handed painter, but I'd like to improve where I can.

• I went with white undercoat, mechrite red, blood red, badab black wash, another layer of blood red, and a few blazing orange highlights.
  • Mould lines need doing and barrels need drilling. Just need to pick up a small drill.
  • Shading from the black is really uneven
  • Highlighting didn't really work at all. Tried some grey on black, and orange on red, but I found that I either put way too much on it, or not enough to see. Guess I need to mix colours to get closer to the base.
  • My brushes (Citadel) don't seem to hold a point that well. Any ideas for better brushes for fine detail stuff?
  • Squad markings, decals, basing etc isn't done, obviously.
  • I am quite happy with the skull on the backpack.

Appreciate any feedback/tips anyones got.

gallery_58996_7291_2229291.jpg

gallery_58996_7291_3498714.jpg

gallery_58996_7291_1228949.jpg

gallery_58996_7291_1809856.jpg

gallery_58996_7291_345598.jpg

gallery_58996_7291_1488436.jpg

gallery_58996_7291_2169707.jpg

Cheers,

Dex