Toxic's 3rd Company Ultramarines

After having decided to join in with the E Tenebrae Lux challenge, i thought it might be a good idea to make a WIP thread to chart my progress. I've pledged to paint up a Librarian, Techmarine, Tactical Squad and Assualt Demi-Squad. That's 17 Marines altogether, not a lot for 10 weeks. However, i'm a slow painter who is easily distracted by my xbox, so getting these done will actually be a real challenge. Anyway, here's some pictures of the models in their initial stages, a mixture of unpainted, primered and basecoated.

Librarian

gallery_61651_7295_16572.jpg

Techmarine

gallery_61651_7295_33176.jpg

Tactical Squad

gallery_61651_7295_24605.jpg

gallery_61651_7295_51802.jpg

Assualt Squad

gallery_61651_7295_48864.jpg

I'll add the last two Marines from the Assualt Squad soon, when i get around to ordering some of the other Mks of Assualt Marine from FW.

I'm already wondering if i've bitten off more than i can chew - i'll have to find a way to hide any distracting stuff or something :). Wish me luck!

Thanks Kierdale. Yeh, i like my squads to have a mix of armour Mks and models from various sources if possible. It makes them both more interesting to paint and to see on the tabletop. That is indeed an old Tigurius. I've had him since just before they stopped selling him in GW stores. He was converted to be a generic Marine Librarian, as i was doing Salamanders at the time. Since then i've switched to Ultramarines (mainly because i can't stand the black skin & red eyes of the current Salamanders) and decided to include old Tigurius as one of my Librarians because the model is awesome and he's kinda coming home. Now i wish i hadn't filed off the Ultramarine symbol on his breastplate - never mind, at least it's clear that he's not Tigurius anymore.