Beating the Unbeatable?

brothergrimnar

First post, hope it's in the right place!

I've been challenged by my current gaming groups undefeated champion to a 1500pt game against his Tyranids. I play vanilla marines and have never faced Tyranids before.

I've had a look around the interwebs for tactics but figured I'd post something in the hope of getting more focused advice =]

Right, I'm very new to the actual gaming side of 40k, so my tactics are little, but I know what my units can do and I know how to do it, my opponent has been playing for years and from what I hear is a very 'win at all costs' type of player. everyone from Orks to Necrons have had trouble getting to turn 5 with him so I presume he builds his lists to counter exactly what he'll face.

I don't expect to win, I just want to put up a decent fight to perhaps keep my honour :D

My only advantage is that I've seen him play. A mix of Carnifexes and warriors for the bones and pretty much exclusively Hormagaunts and Genestealers for the meat. Maybe some Tervigons and Zoanthropes and of course, a Swarmlord.

All this is used how I expect the general Tyranid player uses them, get them into CC, ASAP, tie everything up and march in the big boys to break everything the little guys can't.

What I would like to know is if there are any solid tactics against such a skilled player, maybe things he wouldn't expect or have accounted for?

I've just ordered yet another load of stuff so there's not much I can't field except for thunderfire cannons, bikes and attack bikes.

My thoughts at the moment are to set up a huge base of fire, 3 dakka preds, 3 MM/HF land speeders to defend them, tac squads a plenty to bolster the line in Rhinos, maybe a dreadnought, points allowing.

Wait for him to get to me then unleash 3 drop pods behind him with a 10 man Sternguard squad with libby to nail the Swarmlord and two dreadnoughts to mop up the counter charges.