Ironclad Dreadnaught

Torvold

Greetings Brothers and Sisters, I have been playing 40k for about six months now and I play vanilla Space Marines. I have heard talk of Venerable dreads, Rifleman dreads, TL-LC/Plasma Missile dreads but hardly any talk of the Ironclad. Now I like the Ironclad the way the model looks especially with the 2 HK and IC launchers on it. I like its roll and what it is built to do get near you and flame,melta, or bolter you then get in close and club you like a baby seal. I know fully kitted out its about the same cost as a basic 10 man Tactical squad. I know its slow has short range weapons well minus the HK's and I accept all this. I digress the purpose of this is to ask you learned people of the grim dark future what is you opinion of this machine of war.

~Torvold

It's the king of Zone Mortalis games, Two HF templates, re rolls to wound and AV 13 make it a beast.

In small games it depends what you facing, its need to get close puts it in melta range so facing marines requires a little tactical thinking, Eldar and there Dark brothers a also a worry but due to Fire Dragons and Dark Lances respectively.

The pattern usually goes across all amries.

They suffer from all the weaknesses of a Dread in that it's a single vehicle, so either take two, or oddly use it to help take objectives by using a rhino wall to screen and get a cover save.

King Willy a couple questions for you 1. What is Zone Mortalis? and 2. How does the Ironclad get to re-roll wounds?

Also the Rhino screen sounds like an interesting stratagem I'll have to give it a try sometime. I usually try to get close to troop carriers pop them with the melta and then try to assault them. If I know the troops are carrying melta or something equivalent.