It Begins!

This is going to be my thread for the Raptors army I'm going to try and put together and paint.

Things to note: I'm a total novice, with "experience" only in putting together AoBR Marines so things will look crap and I'm also worried about screwing up.

gallery_48228_7374_16296.jpg

So this is my going to be my test squad, for experimenting with putting things together and then testing out how well I do at painting green in various shades.

So time to crack open my box and get started!

Any tips of things to do before I begin, for those of you who are better than me (everyone ;)).. I know about mold lines, but it's not an issue for these test minis.

Wish me luck! Please!? ;)

Might be an obvious one, but most people pose with blu tac and after the pose it right then glue. Also glue the bolter after painting the body (or chest area) so you can get at that detail. I generally make up a base as well and paint that after the model is complete, but that is just up to preference.

Good luck and have fun!

If you don't have them already, you'll want some clippers for removing the models from their sprue frames, a hobby knife and files to clean up mold lines, and I suggest some form of Cyano Acrylate(CA) or "super" glue to assemble them. If you don't use a ton of superglue in the assembly, with a little force, you can take the figures apart at a later time if you're not happy with them. If you use a plastic cement, that actually welds the pieces together by softening the contact points, you can't take them apart later. Blue-tac or something similar is very handy to have to temporarily hold pieces in place to see how it will look.