Company Veterans

Zebulon

Dark Angels players: as a relative beginner I have a question which you hopefully can help me with?

I understand that Company Veterans don't get the special issue ammo options that vanilla marines (well Sternguard Vets) do.

Do you find that a particular issue in gaming terms? Or do you just take more combi-weapons etc to make up for it?

Do you reckon it will be changed whenever a new Codex is produced (I understand you've been waiting for a while!)

I am not sure whether to use the DA Codex or the vanilla SM one, mostly for this reason, for my latest DIY project.

Hope that makes sense - I'm torn.

I tend to run my Company Veterans as assault troops (more like Vanguard Veterans without Jump Packs).

To be honest, if you're torn between armies right now you'd probably be better off with Codex Space Marines. As it stands at the moment, Codex Dark Angels is more appropriate for it's background than it's playability.

Don't get me wrong, I'm a Dark Angel through and through so I'd always welcome more brothers to the Chapter, but I wouldn't want to recommend a codex to you that you might feel robs you of a lot of variety in terms of units and wargear.

Well, most DA players say that if you are not going to use massive amount of Venerable Dreadnoughts (ours are cheeper than than those of the Smurfs) OR a massive Deathwing attack (Belial makes our terminators a troop choice) OR use many bikes and trikes and land speeders (Sammael makes them a troop choice), you should not play the "greenwing".