Newbie questions

Kaptejn

Hey all!

I decided to pick up warhammer. I immediately decided to pick up blood angels.

I picked up the BA battleforce the other day ( Tactical Squad, an Assault Squad, a Death Company Squad and a Rhino dedicated transport vehicle).

So far i got some questions that i hope you lot could answer :D

What would a good starter HQ be?

Is techmarine viable? (i like the idea of him behind a couple of predators and assault squads)

As far as heavy support goes, is it worth fielding a devastator squad or should i stick to armor?

Bear in mind that i am a complete newb concering tabletop-gaming so please explain in deatails the reasons for whatever your answer is :P

Thanks in advance!

Blood Angels have some of the coolest IMHO special characters in the game. Dante, Mephiston, Sanguinor etc etc. You can't go wrong with any of them, however if your just starting out I would recommend a simple Librarian in power armour. They are a great cheap starting hq and even when you move on to a bigger army with a bigger hq you can still find space to slot him in as your second HQ.

As an IC you can attach him to any squad and cast his psycic powers from relative saftey and the new 6th ed powers really are great for a BA army. I recommend checking out the Divination powers, they really kick ass. I quite often take 2 libbies in bigger games.

Also if you are thinking about building a death company I would also reccommend thinking about a Chaplin as your hq as he will give you rerolls to hit and wound, however Chaplin + DC can get quite expensive very quickly and may not be the best spot to be starting out!

Good luck!