Dark Angels Troop Choices

antacidbrn

I am new to Dark Angels, having only learned about them from the recent Dark Vengeance box. I was leafing through the "old" codex at my local GW and One of the most surprising things for me, as a Blood Angels player is that there was one troop choice: Tactical Squad.

Am I understanding this correctly? BA has Death Company, Assault Squads, Scouts, and Tacticals plus special characters unlock even more options. DA, it appears have character to unlock Deathwing and Ravenwing. I am usually against taking these special characers because I am a big fan of 500-1000 point games and it seems crazy that a special elite character like Smmael would show up to lead a small group of troops.

Have other DA players noticed the same thing? Are there more troop choices coming?

Yup, you are correct. We only got one troop choice, if we don't count the "unlockable" rawenwing and deathwing choices.

To my knowledge there are no new troop types coming except the ones we already got. Although one of the rumours I've come across states that we don't need to unlock the wings. That you can take the different choices right of the bat.

Personally, I don't really care. Tac squads are all I need. I would not protest to more elite slots though :D

Yep, only one troop choice.

You have to realize this codex was developed when 4th edition came out and GW was trying to streamline the army creating process. AKA taking all the fun out and giving a very plain codex. Take a look at the current Eldar/Chaos codex. They are very plain, a lot more options than us yes. But very very plain.

It is what it is. The Dark Angels were one of the first Codex's released for 4th edition. At the time, GW said this was the direction the game was taking- less choice, the better, to streamline and make it faster. We all shrugged, and said OK. When the Chaos Codex dropped and it was just as bad... apparently that was the straw that broke the camel's back.