Kit Bashing Advice

ArmageddonBorn

I'm completely new to kit bashing and conversions. If I were to mix forge world's Death Guard Conversion set with some of the new GW models, like the new raptors, or the new havocs, would they go together? This is assuming that I painted the FW and GW portions of each model the same. But would the nurgly parts of the FW model match with the non-nurgly parts of the GW model?

http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Warhammer-4000...ERSION_SET.html

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catalog/...Id=prod1710090a

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catalog/...Id=prod1710114a

To be honest, I'm not sure. There are people who believe that proper Nurgle CSM, at least the Death Guard, don't have Raptors or jump-infantry. (Personally, I'm not too sure about that, but I don't have shock troops like these for my pure-Nurgle army and I won't get some for that reason.) That's why I'm not sure if the somewhat static look of the FW Death Guard bits go well with the Raptor bits. Technically, if you're prepared for a bit of chopping and green-stuffing, it will be fine though.

To answer your question more generally: I've mixed FW Death Guard bits with vanilla CSM parts and think it's perfectly fine. Many people do it too. I feel that, sometimes, it requires a bit of blending; a bit of extra cabling or modelling sores and battle damage on the vanilla bits, for example. Circus Nurgling, who's likely to comment here too, recommended to use these small plastic beads you'd find in water filter canisters for pustules (or Destroyer Plague flies' larvae) because FW uses something similar on their bits too.

I'm just about to finish a set of Nurgle Terminators which involve both FW and vanilla parts, and I can post a picture or two here if you like. But there's tons of great example on the web and particularly on B&C too.

Cheers, JT